Our Team

Status message

Your region has been set to: North Saskatchewan

Lorne Gelowitz, Saskatoon Police Service (Ret’d)

CEO, Commissionaires North Saskatchewan

Lorne Gelowitz, Saskatoon Police Service (Ret’d) Chief Executive Officer Commissionaires North Saskatchewan Lorne Gelowitz was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the North Saskatchewan
Division of Commissionaires in January 2019. He first joined Commissionaires in 2015, as Vice President of Operations for Saskatoon, Prince Albert, North Battleford, and La Ronge, and
represented the Division on National Office Committees including the National Business Working Group, the Business Development Network, and the Communications Network.

Lorne brings over 31 years of proven leadership experience from his distinguished career with the Saskatoon Police Service. At the time of his retirement in 2015, he was serving as Detective Staff Sergeant in charge of the Criminal Investigations Division (CID) where he was responsible for criminal operations, staffing, and budgeting for 10 Units within the Police Service. His leadership and dedication have earned him many honours including the Governor General’s Caring Canadian Award, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal, the Saskatoon Volunteer of the Year Award, the University of Saskatchewan Alumni Humanitarian Award, the Saskatchewan Centennial Medal, the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers, and several Law Enforcement Exemplary Service Awards, including the prestigious Chief of Police Award of Excellence. Lorne was a finalist in the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police “Canadian Top Cop Award,” and has been inducted into the International Law Enforcement Hall of Fame.

In addition to his community involvement, Lorne maintains memberships in the Saskatoon Police Association, both the Saskatoon and Saskatchewan Chambers of Commerce, the North Saskatoon Business Association, the Royal Canadian Air Force Association 602 Lynx Wing, the Army Navy & Air Force Veterans Club (ANAVETS), the Royal Canadian Legion and the Canada Remembers Our Veterans Air Show.

Lorne attended the University of Saskatchewan where he achieved a B.A. Adv. Degree majoring in both Political Science and Sociology. He has obtained his Strategic Management in Policing Certification, Senior Police Administration, and both the General and Advanced Certifications in Police Studies.

Lorne and his wife, Deidre, have two married children and two grandchildren. He enjoys travel, golf, time with family and friends, and his new role as grandfather.

Board of Governors

Alan Myers


Alan was born and raised in Saskatoon and after public school attended Ashbury College in Ottawa. Alan worked for the family business; Myers Construction during the summers of high school and after graduation was encouraged to market the new Myers homes and so entered the real estate business in 1972. This began a career that has spanned over 30 years in the industry with a wide variety of residential, industrial and commercial portfolios. Mr. Myers is currently a Senior Sales Associate with Colliers International.  Alan was involved with the Saskatoon Kinsmen Club in various capacities including President, as well as served as Corporate Donations Chair for three productions of Telemiracle. In 1986 he was honoured as a Life member of the Association. Alan also served on the Board of Elmwood Residences as Vice President and Chairman of the building and facilities committee. 

Alan has served as Governor for the Commissionaires, North Saskatchewan Division since 2013.  He joined the Audit Committee in 2014, served as Vice Chair 2015-2017 and was elected Chairman in 2017.

Captain (Navy) John Dalzell, CD (Ret’d)

Immediate Past Chair

John Dalzell was born and raised in Saskatoon.  In 1960, he enrolled in the RCAF (Auxiliary) and served in 406 Squadron until 1962. He then transferred to the RCNR.  Between 1962 and 1970 he served in a number of establishments and HMC Ships as a Maritime Surface and Subsurface Officer including the aircraft carrier, HMCS BONAVENTURE, before returning to Saskatoon. 

In 1972 he graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce and entered the Public Service of Canada where he worked in various positions in the areas of administration, finance, and project management before retiring in 2008. 

He also continued his association with the Canadian Forces as a reservist before retiring in 1998.  He held three commands as well as senior staff officer positions.  He is a graduate of the National Defence College of Canada in Kingston, Ontario (Strategic Studies 1989).  He also served as an Aide de Camp to three Lieutenant Governors of Saskatchewan and the Governor General of Canada.

John has served on Board since 2008, and served as Chair from 2013- 2017.

Darrell McFadyen, A/Comm RCMP (Ret’d)

Board Member

Darrell McFadyen was born and raised in Saskatchewan in the Asquith district. He joined the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in July of 1968 and began his career in Burnaby, BC. In June of 1973 he was transferred to the Yukon Territory where he performed general duties in Whitehorse and Old Crow. He began working in the field of Commercial Crime following a transfer in 1978 to "O" Division (Ontario) where he worked in both Toronto and Hamilton. In October 1987 he returned to Saskatchewan serving as a physical fitness instructor at the Training Academy at Depot Division in Regina. In May 1990, Darrell was transferred to “F” Division HQ and promoted to the rank of Inspector where he worked in the fields of Commercial Crime, Federal Policing and Provincial Policing. In September 2001 he was promoted to the rank of Superintendent responsible for the South District in Saskatchewan. In September of 2002, he was promoted to the rank of Chief Superintendent and assumed the role of Criminal Operations Officer for the Division. In July of 2005, he was promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioner and became the Commanding Officer for the Province of Saskatchewan. Darrell retired from the RCMP in August of 2008 after 40 years of service.

Darrell is also a Certified Management Accountant (CMA) and remains involved with that group's governing body as part of the Discipline Committee. He serves on the Board of Directors of St. John's Ambulance. Darrell joined the Board of Governors of Commissionaires North Saskatchewan in 2009.

Other Board Governors

  • Darwin Forbes
  • Doug Curliss
  • Doug Konkin
  • Joan Steckhan
  • Janine Harriman
  • Karen Smith
  • Deputy Chief Mark Chatterbok
  • Cary Primeau
  • Vance McNab